• Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size
  • Download as PDF

Two Aspirus Nurses Recognized as Nightingale Award Nominees

Two Aspirus Nurses were recognized for their excellence in the nursing field on April 18 at the annual Nightingale Awards ceremony held at the Oshkosh Convention Center.

Nurses Amy Burger and Misty Krug were nominated for the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh’s 2019 Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice.

Amy Burger, a nurse at Aspirus Wausau Hospital (AWH), has eight years of experience as a clinical educator in heart and vascular services at AWH. Last year, she led a system-wide implementation of the Scott Triggers tool after recognizing the Braden scale is not always a sensible tool to measure ambulatory patients.

Misty Krug, a nurse at Aspirus Medford Hospital (AMH), is using her holistic education to improve patient experience. Her passion to drive the nursing profession forward has prompted several safety initiatives at AMH, including safe medication zones and using essential oils to promote non-narcotic pain management.

The UW Oshkosh College of Nursing and its Board of Visitors instituted the Nightingale Awards for Nursing in 1993 in the spirit of Florence Nightingale. Registered nurses are recognized for excellence in clinical nursing practice.

Since the inception of the UW Oshkosh Nightingale Awards in 1993, 142 Nightingale Award recipients and two Nurse Leader Award recipients have been recognized as outstanding, Wisconsin-based nurses.




Amy Burger (L), Misty Krug (R)