• Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size
  • Download as PDF

Aspirus Network

Aspirus Network, Inc. (ANI) is a Clinically Integrated Network of leading primary and specialty care physicians, hospitals and allied health care professionals. Aspirus Network negotiates contracts on behalf of its members with employers and health plans. ANI works closely with Aspirus’ health plan, Aspirus Arise, to help deliver direct access to high-value, personalized health care that aims to improve your health and well-being through all of your health care needs.

ANI aligns all elements of the care continuum to advance quality and improvement efforts that produce better clinical outcomes, enhanced patient experiences and controlled costs. Provider members of Aspirus Network have the opportunity to help identify and drive quality improvement initiatives, serve as advocates for healthier communities, and provide ongoing feedback on the network’s strategic direction.

We understand patients have a choice – select the best health care providers knowing the benefits are:

  • 24/7 access to care
  • Collaboration on the best care
  • Continuous quality improvement for the best outcomes
  • Providers credentialed to the highest standards
  • Best patient experience

Aspirus Network Vision

Aspirus Network delivers compelling value to the marketplace by collaborating with our members to leverage our unique perspective to improve cost and quality for our communities.

Governance Structure

Board of Directors

Aspirus Network, Inc. (ANI) is governed by a Board of Directors that consists of 9 elected members. Aspirus Network has four governing committees that report up to the Board. The Board has regularly scheduled monthly meetings with the right to hold a special meeting at the discretion of the Chairman or Executive Director.

Board Members

  • Christopher Young, MD – Chair
  • Christian Lee, MD – Vice Chair
  • Aaron Anderson, MD
  • Ryan Andrews, MD
  • Benjamin Herdrich, MD
  • Matthew Heywood
  • William Johnston, MD
  • Shannon Lozon, DPM
  • Sidney Sczygelski
  • Renee Smith, MD (Ex-Officio)

Physician Leadership Committee

The Physician Leadership Committee (PLC) is comprised of physician leaders collaborating to provide oversight for the Clinical Value program and support of quality or improvement efforts of Aspirus Network's Clinically Integrated Network (CIN). PLC has regularly scheduled monthly meetings.


  • David Edmondson, DO – Chair
  • Benjamin Barsotti, MD
  • Mike Frangiskakis, MD, PhD
  • Nate Grabher, MD
  • Sara Hackworth, MD
  • Ruth Risley-Gray
  • Susan Schneider, MD
  • Renee Smith, MD (Ex-Officio)
  • William Wilfley, MD

Credentialing Committee

The Credentialing Committee has oversight of our credentialing policy and participation requirements for network membership. The Credentialing Committee evaluates provider applications, reapplications and supporting documentation regarding approvals, denials, terminations or other actions as it relates to payor credentialing. The Committee has regularly scheduled monthly meetings.


  • (Open) – Chair
  • (Open) - Vice Chair
  • Jonathan Brueggeman, DPM
  • Adam Clements, DO
  • William Johnston, MD
  • Samir Kulkarni, MD
  • Jennine Larson, MD
  • Laura Sherrill, MD
  • Wendy Angelo, MD, CMO (Ex-Officio)

Payor Contracting Committee

The Payor Contracting Committee (PCC) has oversight of the interpretation and evaluation of Payor (or network) & employer market based reimbursement strategies and related contracts. PCC has regularly scheduled monthly meetings.


  • Lori Peck – Chair
  • Jennifer Hinker - Vice Chair
  • Roger Dillon
  • Mike Murphy
  • Pat Tincher

Network Engagement Committee

The Network Engagement Committee is responsible for investigating and evaluating mechanisms for engaging provider members in participation of Aspirus Network's Clinically Integrated Network (CIN). The Committee has regularly scheduled monthly meetings.


  • Robert Smith – Chair
  • Tammy Freese – Vice Chair
  • Ryan Andrews, MD
  • Kathleen Arendt
  • Debbie Hoffman
  • James Matheson
  • John Monks
  • Roger Rego
  • Cathy Rohling

Contact Us


3000 Westhill Drive, Suite 300
Wausau, WI 54401


Aspirus Service Area

Click on image for larger view

    Aspirus Service Area