Magnet Nursing

Recognition Programs

There are several recognition programs in place to recognize nursing excellence.  Nominations for the recognition programs may be given by fellow staff, physicians, management, or patient and family members to reward the accomplishments of the nurses. 

Nurses of Excellence

AWH recognizes and acknowledges nurses that have exhibited nursing excellence and fostered the excellence of others each year through the Nurse of Excellence award.  Nurses, physicians, patients, families, and other clinicians have the opportunity annually to nominate a nurse for this award.  A sub-committee of the House Wide Education Council reviews the nominations, selects the winner, and plans the celebration.  In addition to the honor of being nominated and receiving the award, the recipient is provided funds to attend an education conference of their choice. 

Thirty-six Nurse of Excellence nominations were received in 2013 from patients and family members, physicians, and fellow nurses.  After the nominations were received the Nurse of Excellence Task force began the daunting job of selecting a winner.  Nurses were nominated for teamwork, involvement in councils, and for working to implement new practices in their respective departments.  Charlotte Tyskiewicz, RN, BSN, CCRN emerged as the 2013 recipient.  Charlotte was recognized at a celebration in October 2013 for the compassionate care she provides to patients, her involvement in the Northcentral Wisconsin Chapter of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), and her active involvement in many committees and councils.

Vision Award Program

The Vision Award is bestowed upon nurses and others to recognize and reward passion for excellence and compassion for people.  The underlying purpose of the Vision Award is to foster a strong and healthy organizational environment where contributions are recognized and acknowledged.  There are six nomination categories for the award:  compassion, collaboration, excellence, fiscal accountability, integrity, and living the vision.  The Vision Award Committee reviews all nominations and selects those worthy of recognition.  Award winners are recognized via a small celebration in their department, and receive a certificate and gift card. 

Hero Award

The Hero Award provides a mechanism for patients and family members to thank a physician, nurse, or other staff member for excellent care received by making a donation to the Aspirus Health Foundation.  The donation may be restricted or it may be placed into the greatest need fund.  When a gift is made on the behalf of a staff member, the Aspirus Hero or Heroes are notified and receive a custom made Hero lapel pin to wear as a symbol of appreciation.